more from
Slowfoot Records

Stop Machine

by Snorkel

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Stop Machine via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      £11.99 GBP or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5.99 GBP  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 3 Snorkel releases available on Bandcamp and save 15%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of One Long Conundrum, Glass Darkly, and Stop Machine. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      £13.16 GBP or more (15% OFF)




After a year of experimenting in their South East London studio, Snorkel have remerged focused and energized holding in its hands a brilliant new record. ‘Stop Machine’ recalls the improvised off kilter performances of their acclaimed first album 'Glass Darkly' and delivers a compact, robust and energetic route through post-funk, dub, electronica, krautrock and sonic art. Improvisation continues to be at the core of their strategy, from the agitated post-industrial experiments of ‘Driller’ and ‘Edgar’s Hoover’ to the aquatic drift of ‘Jellyfish’. A more compositional approach is evident in the swaggering and elastic grooves of ‘Stop Machine’ and ‘Loophole’, the slippery mood of ‘Wet Tongue’, and the dreamlike tension and release of ‘Dead Skin’, which incorporates the shadowy rhymed musings of eccentric soulster Charles Stuart.

Players on the record include drummer/producer Frank Byng [Crackle, Spring Tides, Barry Adamson], Ben Cowen [7-Hurtz, Crackle], Charles Stuart [Grace Jones, The Fish Police], Tom Marriott [Pest] and artist/producer 129, with additional contributions from guitarist Lucas Suarez, Robert Logan and Ralph Cumbers [AKA Bass Clef]

"Possibly the best intellectually deconstructed funk record you'll hear this year." [Rock A Rolla]

"...a vital flow of angular energy and unpretentious swagger" [The Wire]

"There are dark, playful combinations right through Stop Machine" [Mojo]

"Stop Machine is a very convincing hybrid, bringing disparate influences together to form a lopsided fourth-world funk of the highest order." [Cyclic Defrost]

" assured if you're prepared to open your mind and let Snorkel in then this could well be a 10 out of 10 album" [The 405]

"Stop Machine is a trippy, thumping masterwork sure to arrest attentive ears" [Music OMH]

"Experimental but funky fusions of Krautrock, Dub and Jazz from Slowfoot's dextrously versatile in-house band... ... Highly impressive stuff." [Boomkat]

"If mesmerising, beat laden, experimental, electronics are your thing, you’ll want to hear this" [Fred Perry Subculture]

"Highlights of the album are the unsettling, minimal drumbeats of ‘Edgars Hoover’ and the funky, hip hop influenced beat of ‘Dark Star’, but there’s never a dull moment on this album. ‘Stop Machine’ is well worth a few listens." [Live Music Scene]

"..‘Stop Machine’ sees the group delving deeper into more experimental territory as they continue to take on a highly creative approach with their music... ... an album that buzzes with activity, from its unique instrumentation to the brilliant way in which the percussion is explored throughout." [Shout4Music]

"Snorkel have created with this second record a rather enjoyable collection" [Milk Factory]

"This is not my usual bag, but in my head this is kinda what i want Tortoise to sound like. A Lee Perry / Can / Barry Adamson society-esque shunt of sweaty chimeric propulsion" [Cowsarejustfood]



released May 9, 2011

Frank Byng - drums, percussion, dr.sample, voice
Ben Cowen - synths, sampler, percussion, steel guitar, electric reed organ
Charles Stuart - vocals, synths, drum machine, melodica, glockenspiel
Tom Marriott - trombone + fx
129 - unprepared guitar, organ, sampler, casiotone, radio, voice


Ralph Cumbers - drum machine, electronics [3]
Lucas Suarez - guitar [4,5]
Robert Logan - synth [1]
Luke Wills - guitar loop [4]

Produced by Frank Byng and Snorkel



all rights reserved



Snorkel London, UK

Frank Byng -
drums, percussion, electronics

Ben Cowen -
synths, samplers

Ralph Cumbers -
electronics, trombone, bass

Tom Marriott - trombone, fx

Roberto Sassi -

"The missing link between krautrock and Lee Scratch Perry" [Rock a Rolla]

... more

contact / help

Contact Snorkel

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like Snorkel, you may also like: